For Instructors: How can students share video with you but not with the whole class?
Using My Media in Canvas, students can share a video with an instructor privately, in a response to an assignment, and not share it with the rest of class.
Instructions for instructors are below --
Create a new assignment in Canvas
In the assignment, under "Submission Type" make sure the "Text Entry" box is checked
Save and publish the assignment.
Share these instructions with your students:
After students have submitted their assignments, you can review their entries including the videos they shared
When you review the assignment in Canvas, you will see the students' text entry submissions, including the embedded video. This guide explains how to review the assignments with SpeedGrader in Canvas:
NOTE: After the assignment is submitted this way, if the student visits "My Media" they will see their video there, because "My Media" contains their personal archive of video. But if they visit "Media Gallery" which is visible to the whole class, they will not see the video, because they have not published it there.