Educational Technology User GuidesZoom Using Breakout RoomsFor Participants: How do I access self-assigned breakout rooms in Zoom?

For Participants: How do I access self-assigned breakout rooms in Zoom?

When your instructor hosts a class in Zoom, they may set up breakout rooms during the meeting, and have you self-assign to those rooms, to allow for smaller group discussions and activities.

To ensure the breakout room experience works smoothly for you, it's important that you use the most recent version of Zoom —

Upgrade to the latest version of the app on your computer or mobile device

For instructions on how to do this, visit: How do I update my Zoom app?

Log into your Tufts Zoom account with your Tufts username

For instructions on how to do this, visit: How do I sign into my Tufts Zoom account on the web?

Once you're in Zoom, and the host has set up the breakout rooms, click on the Breakout Rooms button in the toolbar at the bottom of the Zoom window

In the Breakout Rooms window, mouse over the number to the right of the breakout room, and click "Join"

You will be taken to your breakout room. Once in the breakout room, you can move from room to room by following the same steps.

When group activities are done, the instructor or host will close the breakout rooms, which will return you and the other participants to the main room.