How do I use break-out rooms in Zoom?
Zoom allows you to split your students into separate breakout rooms for small group projects and discussions, but this feature is disabled by default. To enable it, log in to https://tufts.zoom.us/profile/setting and turn on the Breakout room option in the In Meeting (Advanced) section. You only need to do this once.
Once you have enabled breakout rooms in your Zoom account, you can either pre-assign students to breakout rooms before class begins or manually create breakout rooms and assign students to them during class. Zoom’s Managing Video Breakout Rooms guide will show you how to create breakout rooms, assign students to rooms, manage breakout rooms, broadcast a message to your breakout rooms, and end a breakout room session.
The host in the main meeting will only receive the main recording - they must assign co-hosts to record each breakout room if they wish. Once in the rooms, the co-hosts can then start the recording of those sessions (no choice of cloud or local - the recording defaults to local). When the meeting ends, the breakout session recordings will save locally to each co-host’s machine, accessible via their Zoom app or directly in their file system. Participants joining the meeting from a mobile device cannot record meetings. The host in the main meeting will still receive the main recording, in the cloud or locally, as chosen.
Users joined into the Zoom meeting from the Zoom Mobile App or H.323/SIP devices can participate in breakout rooms, but cannot manage them. Users joined via the web client, Chromebooks/Chrome OS or Zoom Rooms are unable to join Breakout Rooms, but the main room can be used as an alternative session for these users.