Educational Technology User GuidesZoom Using Breakout RoomsFor Hosts: Managing Pre-Assigned breakout rooms during the session

For Hosts: Managing Pre-Assigned breakout rooms during the session

Open the Break Out Room Window

You may need to click the "More" button to access the breakout rooms button.

The Host and all Co-Hosts have access to the breakout room panel and can control the breakout rooms. It is recommended that only one person control the breakout rooms at a time - do not pass control back and forth if you can avoid it.

Recover Break Out Rooms to pre-assigned rooms

Click 'Recreate' at the bottom of the break out room panel, and then choose "Recover to Pre-assigned rooms." This will check the previously created break out room assignments and apply them to the participants in the room.

You will need to push the "recover to pre-assigned rooms" IMMEDIATELY before you "Open All Rooms"

Zoom only checks the current participants against the pre-assigned list when you click the button. So if you click that button, and then new students log into the meeting they will NOT be assigned to their breakout room. Therefore you must click the "Recover to pre-assigned rooms" at the last possible moment before you click "Open All Rooms". Also, any students who did not log into their Tufts Zoom account will not be recognized by Zoom and therefore not assigned to their room.

Open All Rooms to Send the Participants to their Breakout Rooms

Manually Assign Others

The process often leaves a few participants out of the break out rooms. You will need to assign them to the correct breakout rooms manually in the breakout room window. It is a best practice to have a list of participants and their breakout rooms on hand to make this process easier.  

Click on the Assign button or the number next to the room name. 

Join Breakout Rooms as Needed

Close Breakout Rooms to Return Everyone to the Main Room

Open ALL Rooms to Resend Participants to Breakout Rooms